11
Apr
10

Demon Lord

The Sketch Theatre Competition this month is Demon Lord. I instantly started brainstorming different character designs and gestures, but kept coming back to a person with horns. This seems a little generic to me, so I was trying to be somewhat original. I saw a picture by Ian Mccaig, where there was a cool looking monster, whose head was like a spiky cylinder. I tried mimicing something like that, but wasn’t liking it.

I was looking around for inspiration and found some pictures of Japanese demons and guardians. Feeling that this would be quite a bit different than the other submissions and especially different for me, I decided to go with it. It came out really smooth and I felt like I really wanted to do this style of character. I ended up using ballpoint pin on newsprint with a “Special Black” copic marker to fill in the background and touch up a couple spots the pen didn’t get quite dark enough. I don’t think I’ll ever win any of these competitions, but I feel like I’m getting better with each submission and that’s kind of the point, right?

Original uncropped. I had to make the background black because I had other doodles around the head. This started out as a doodle, but I ended up liking it too much to start over

Same image cropped to hide imcomplete wings and darkened to correct for scanner brightening

Colored with red and yello copic marker. Highlights done with wife's acrylics (I asked permission)

1 Response to “Demon Lord”


  1. August 26, 2014 at 9:57 pm

    go here for best info relevant web page anywhere


Leave a Reply

